The Zombie Factor

The shambling moaning undead endless searching for …

Words. Yep you guessed it. Forget flesh eating, brains chomping zombies, I’m talking about the writers that during certain months of the year turn into the stumbling mumbling undead. 

I love the idea behind NaNoWriMo, the camps, and Chris Beattys’s “we need your story” philisophy. Words, stories touch us and connect us to each other. What I don’t love is something I am calling the zombie effect. Last November I did NaNo, had a great time until Dec. 2 and I realized I had no real memories of November. Oops. I figured it was me, a fluke, one time deal until I finished camp. There was so many things I let go during those months. My blog posts were late or left for the following week. I stopped journaling for the entire month. Work was the worst. It was like I hadn’t done anything when I normally do things. Crazy, scary, and very, very bad.

Am I the only one suffering the NaNo zombie factor? If there are others how have you fought it, coped with it? I’d love your comments or suggestions. 

Cheers on this stormy Sunday evening, james 

4 thoughts on “The Zombie Factor

  1. I felt that way after November too. I had clear memories of Thanksgivig but that was about it. Of course, I have a crummy memory anyway and at the moment can’t remember much of December either, so I’m not sure how much of the blame I can place on NaNoWriMo.

      1. It goes… ish. I haven’t been writing much in the past month or so thanks to moving and work being hectic, but I’m starting to make more of an effort again.

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

