Fountain Pen: Take 2

I wrote a few weeks ago about aquiring a couple of Hero fountain pens and a bottle of Parker Quink black ink. So now I want to update on my new ink samples, (Thank you Goulet Pens) and my new Sheaffer Veiwpoint fountain pen.

After much discussion and browsing Gouletpens.com for ink. I found out they sell 2 mL ink samples. And as far as I can tell every ink they sell, you can get a sample. So I picked out four gorgeous inks and awaited delivery. I ordered the samples Thursday night, I received them Monday afternoon. The colors are bright and vibrant. I used a dip pen from a calligraphy set I never could master and tested them.

image

I, then cleaned my pen I had ink in. That was fun trying to put the ink back in the bottle only to later learn. Yeah you can but why would you want to. And after much flushing got my pen clean. I let it dry for twenty minutes maybe before I tried putting a new ink in it. De Atramentis Edgar Allen Poe green, I noticed the ink flowed smoothly but it scratched on the paper. I haven’t gotten it straight yet, but I have hope.

The Sheaffer Viewpoint is a medium nib and the blue ink is very blue and bright. It writes much larger and somewhat wetter, the nib size I believe. So I have two working inked fountain pens and cool ink to play with. I still urge you give them a try if you have ever wanted to try or thought fountain pens are cool.

Cheers, james

#Fountainpens #ink

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

