Fountain Pens: Say Whaat?

After reading so many glowing reviews about fountain pens, I bit the bullet and purchased one. It is from a Japanese company called Hero. My pen is the medium nib Light or Extra Light. I’m not exactly sure which one I have. I purchased my pen as a three pack from a seller in Virginia, speerbob. I then wandered down to the local Staples for a bottle of Parker Quink black ink. Sadly that was the only bottle of ink they had. It seems to get any of the really cool colors I’ll have to order them online. Goulet and Jetpens seem to be pretty good sources for both ink and pens. Amazon and Staples also have a good selection of inks and some really nice (expensive) pens.

Anyway after taking pen apart and attempting to fill with ink. User error, still practicing. My pens are the lever fill style, which means they have a bladder that fills with ink. And I have no doubt there is a simple trick for filling them, I just haven’t found it yet. I got enough ink in the pen so I could use it.

Wow, my writing has never looked so neat or sexy. I was using regular copy paper and the pen glided across the surface and I had no trouble with the ink bleeding through or smearing or other such problems. The nib is a medium, however because it is Japnese made it is like an American fine nib. It writes smoothly and I wrote a whole 8.5×11 page before I noticed the ink getting light and not flowing as well. A whole page of tiny cursive letters and words and no hand cramping. Amazing! Ever since I learned to write cursive in third grade, my hand cramps and it is hard to write for long periods of time. Printing or my mismash style of writing doesn’t bother me. I really wish someone had introduced me to fountain pens back then, my handwriting would have been greatly improved.

So I topped it off, capped it, and left it standing upright. There is a tendacy for a fountain pen to leak if left in a horizonal or nib down position. Most fountain pen users say a good bottle of ink will last a year or possibly longer depending on useage and properly storing the ink out of sunlight and in a cooler environment, such as a desk drawer or my current location an old cigar box.

All in all I paid $10 for three pens and $11 for a 2 ounce bottle of ink. So that is an investment of $7 per pen. Not bad, not bad at all. So if you have ever wondered or considered trying a fountain pen, do it. I really don’t think you’ll regret it.

Cheers on a rainy Easter evening, james

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

