Library of Congress

Okay so we know the Library of Congress (LoC) exists. But have you ever thought about the treasures, the wealth of information it holds? Guilty as charged, until I was looking for something and the LoC popped up.

Say what???? I’ve never visited their website until yesterday. You can order copies of maps, old maps from them. You can also download and save them or print them. Its no secret I love maps, they spark my imagination and lift my spirits. (Explorer in a previous life perhaps?) So to be gifted with the ability to look at maps from the 1600s and beyond blew my mind.

I have been so intriqued I have spent several hours looking through their site. Now I really want to take the trip to DC and see it all in person. How awesomely cool that would be? However there are a few speed bumps, mainly getting to DC and then getting a library card for the LoC. They have three buildings full of stuff, according to the website over 100 million items. 100 million and beyond. A multitude of reading rooms, and a store that sells stuff, not online but in person. Why did I not apply for a job there after I got out if school???

Anyways if you have a love for writing, books, and maps, maps and lots more maps. Check out the Library of Congress, it is well worth your time. And the best part admission is an internet connection.
http://www.loc.gov

Cheers james

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

