Writing outside of your comfort zone

I read a post about reading outside your comfort zone. It made me think of my writing comfort zones, I tend to stay with pretty mundane sujects, Owl Story is a great example of my writing style. I crave a good story with a happy ending. Except for two semi-current projects most everything I’ve written has followed this path.

The first exception is “Saving Emilsa” a dark tale riffe with violence, sexual slavery and other very unsavory topics. I am unsure how this one will play out. Even if she makes it, I am not sure how she will overcome the emotional and mental scars that would result. I think part of my reluctance to work on this project stems from my fear things are not going to end happily. There is a project page for this one.

The second is a zombie project, (I don’t like zombies) marrying my love of bad shark movies and my husband’s love of zombie movies. Hence Zombie Shark was born? created? It is an attempt to fill in some of the shark/zombie movies plot holes. I started it as a screenplay, but I am switching back to story format. I did some research on the screenplay format and it is wildly different. You write from a visual “this what the audience is seeing” perspective. Incredible difficult, I have even more respect and admiration for these writers. Should it find a home on the B rate movie screen I’ll tranlate it then. Anyway these two projects are my comfort zone outsiders.

What projects or topics are outside your comfort zone?

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

