Postcard writing prompts

My mom was telling me over the holidays she wants to start creative writing. I suggested she start a journal and check out the wordpress writing blogs gang. (You folks know who you are) She mentioned taking a couple of writing classes and I asked her why. She said she didn’t think she was creative enough. I told her she had creativity, because she had written the start of a story. A murder mystery using a red leather stilletoe high heel shoe. Anybody that would see that as a weapon has creativity and sees out of the box. I think of high heels as torture devices. So ……

On my way home yesterday, I thought what if she received a postcard with a message. I wondered if it would fuel her creativity and her curiousity. Then I started thinking what if a group of writers from the world over took turns writing prompts and story bits on postcards and mailing them to another writer. Fun, right? I decieded to research if anyone had set up something similar and I found a website called “postcrossing”. You sign up and request a randomly assigned address and you mail them a postcard. Then you receive a postcard from someone and you get another address and so forth. I thought it was a neat idea. So now I am wondering if writing prompt postcards would be a neat thing to try or if old fashioned pen writing has died.

So dear readers what do you think?

5 thoughts on “Postcard writing prompts

  1. With the current postal service here i reckon it would be a nightmare- folks scratching heads … “did you get my last chapter? I sent it in march!”

    I wrote in a group story over on another site. It was a good laugh, until one guy decided he was going to kill each and every character you added. It was like chess trying to dodge his pen of death. If your character didn’t die- they got naked in some nasty compromising position! Funny , but very infuriating if you had a goal for them.

  2. Sounds like a neat idea! I’m like Sally with the mail – snail and email. I don’t deal with either promptly or at all sometimes. Scary, I know. šŸ™‚ But your mom does sound creative. I like that idea of stiletto heels.

    Lily

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

