Hello? November are you there?

November is upon us and giving us a preview of winter. I love fall and sping weather, summer and winter you can keep. Yes, I understand the whole cycle of renewal theory, but let a girl dream.

On this semi-yucky evening I am absurdly proud of myself. I just put together a small bird feeder. It was in the kiddie arts and crafts section at our local dollar store. There was a pirate ship (looked too simple), a small bird house (looked too complicated) and the bird feeder (looked just right). So thinking it might be a project for my nieces I bought two. I decided to put one together and the hubby decided to try his hand.

I worked on my feeder with everything straight out of the package. Hubby used sandpapper to smooth the edges, a knife to trim up a crooked edge or two, and superglue instead of the white glue in the kit. My little feeder, slightly crooked, is together and standing (for the moment). Hubby’s is in two main sections to dry before final assembly tomorrow. His will last much longer than mine cause by the time its finished it will have been put together with superior skills and knowledge. This doesn’t bother me because I know mine will have more personality and I learned something new. I will post a picture once I paint it.

What does this have with writing you ask. It is a lesson of stepping outside of your norms. Keeping your creative spark burning by trying new skills or gaining new knowledge. By not realizing I needed to sand the edges or not realizing the glue wouldn’t hold, I had faith that everything I needed was in the kit. Writing is the same. A writer has to have faith in themself, believe everything they need to write is within. And here’s the kicker: it is. You just have to believe in yourself and trust your words.

Every writer sees the world around them differently. I may notice the patches on the man’s motorcyle jacket, and you might notice the woman beside him giving him directions. Or any one of a hundred of details the regular joe misses. This ability to see instead of looking, sets us apart. (This was something my dad always said. “You’re looking but you’re not seeing what you are looking at. If it (normally a tool he needed) had been a snake it would’ve bit you”. I hold tight to those words and try to see instead of look.) He also taught to me to read signs, the signs that tell you what is going on or has wondered through. Tracks, bits of feathers or fur all of these things tell a story. I believe this has greatly helped my imagination and sense of wonder. By learning to read the signs you can put the story together, which in turn opens your mind to new possiblities.

So here is my challenge to you: Try something new or learn something new. Try seeing the details of the world around you instead of just looking. You never know what might pop out at you. Cheers, james

2 thoughts on “Hello? November are you there?

  1. Well said! I’m one who does not see. Quite often I walk by a new bike project my partner has started and I don’t even see it. Shame on me! Writing does slow me down so that I’m paying more attention now.

    Lily

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

