Monsters hiding in the dark

Driving to see my hubby at work tonight, I was struck by the play of the headlights on the shoulder of the road. I should have been paying attention to my driving and looking for the random bambi looking to be a roadside pancake. However I was letting my imagination run wild.

I could see in my writer’s eye a nebulous horrifying beast keeping pace with the car. The tail lights of the car ahead of me, illuminating its souless glowing red eyes and the flecks of slobber being flung from its gaping jaws. Chubacabra at first came to mind, rough scales dancing across a muscular body, long teeth and hideous snout finishing the head. Racing closer to the car and just before it leaped, I lost it. The car ahead of me had stopped to turn.

I searched the shadows for it on the way back home to no avail, the monster had disappeared back into the shadows from whence it came. Several times I caught the red glow of eyes in the dark and chills rattled my spine. The hunter was now the hunted. I stayed on the main road instead of taking the back way into town. First mistake made in every horror movie “let’s take the spooky less traveled path fit for monster, murders and pyschos”. I admit it not a horror movie fan. However who needs Hollywood monsters, when my imagination is chock full of ’em.

So now that I have shared my monster. Where does your writer’s eye see monsters? Just beyond the glow of your headlights, swimming in the murky depths, high above you in the night sky, or patiently waiting in the shadows?

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

