Mapmaking

Well it ain’t (excuse the local venacular) pretty but I guess it will serve to guide me through my story. I made one of several attempts at mapmaking. So far it looks like a sheet of graphpaper with squiggily lines for rivers/streams and dots for places of inteterest/important events.

I decided since i was using graphpaper and I am working against time. I would let time be my scale instead of miles. I also have noted on my map one square equals one hour of travel one foot. While three squares equal one hour by elk (I know cool right. Whoever thought of using an elk as a riding animal) I will at a later date ascribe the miles into a more traditional map.

I must say I am waiting for the day in the future when my doodle/scibble looks like a real map. I am inspired by the fact Middle Earth’s map was a collage of many different maps Mr. Tolken made over the years. Practice and patience will sure win the game and I will draw something worthy of the name. 

Comments and feedback are welcome! I will read and resond to you.

